HFMA Awards 2011 

The HFMA Awards proved once again to be a celebration of excellence in NHS finance across the UK. Individual and team winners in eight categories covered the full spectrum of the function’s activities, from producing accounts and sound governance to finance training, clinical engagement and excellence in leadership and strategic thinking.

This year, a new award recognised improvements in costing processes and information that have allowed organisations to make better decisions.

The HFMA also honoured a number of individuals who have made a significant contribution to the association. These personal awards included one Outstanding Contribution Award, which is given to someone who has gone above and beyond their regular duties to deliver a particular project that has benefited the association.

The HFMA also admitted five new Honorary Fellows. Fellowships are given to individuals who have made a substantial and sustained contribution to the life and work of the association.

HFMA Award winners 2011 

Accounts Team of the Year Award 
Endorsed and sponsored by KPMG

WINNER – 5 Boroughs Partnership NHS FT

The Christie NHS FT

NHS Tees

Working with Finance – Clinician of the Year Award
In association with the Academy of Royal Medical Colleges

WINNER – Jason Leitch, Scottish Government

Elora Mukherjee, Ealing Hospital NHS Trust

Costing Award
Sponsored by Healthcost, CACI and Bellis-Jones Hill

WINNER – Cardiff and Vale University Health Board

Chelsea & Westminster Hospital NHS FT

Liverpool Heart & Chest Hospital NHS FT

Deputy Finance Director of the Year Award

WINNER – Joanne Fitzpatrick, The Christie NHS FT

Elizabeth O'Mahony, NHS South

Frances Smith, South West London & St. George's Mental Health NHS Trust

Martin Taylor, NHS Midlands & East SHA Cluster

Efficiency Award


North East Lincolnshire Care Trust Plus

Sherwood Forest Hospitals NHS FT

Wrightington, Wigan & Leigh NHS FT

Finance Director of the Year Award
Sponsored by NHS Supply Chain

WINNER – David Melbourne, Birmingham Children’s Hospital NHS FT

Neil Kemsley, NHS Devon

Tony Whitfield, Salford Royal NHS FT

Governance Award - Endorsed and sponsored by ACCA

WINNER – University Hospital of South Manchester NHS FT

DAS / NHS Dorset

Norfolk and Waveney Mental Health NHS FT

North Essex Partnership NHS FT

Havelock Training Award

WINNER - East Kent Hospitals University NHS FT 

ABM University Health Board

Countess of Chester NHS FT
Back to top