HFMA intermediate qualifications

The HFMA intermediate qualifications are relevant to a wide range of healthcare professionals who want to gain a better understanding of the fundamentals of NHS business and finance. These qualifications can be studied flexibly, online as HFMA intermediate certificates or awards. 

There are a three intermediate qualifications:

  • HFMA intermediate certificate (20 credits at level 4)
  • HFMA intermediate award (10 credits at level 4)
  • HFMA intermediate *diploma (40 credits at level 4)
*Complete the intermediate certificate and the two intermediate awards to achieve the HFMA intermediate diploma.

What are the Qualifications?
 The intermediate certificate “How finance works in the NHS” is worth 20 credits.

Also available are the intermediate awards, each equating to 10 credits. The modules are:   

  • Management skills
  • Governance and risk management in the NHS

Each qualification module is studied separately but learners can achieve a full intermediate diploma (40 credits) by successfully achieving the certificate plus the two above awards. All qualifications are studied flexibly online with full tutor and peer support.

Who are the HFMA intermediate qualifications aimed at?

The HFMA intermediate qualifications are aimed typically at Agenda for Change bands 4-6 but they are also highly relevant to anyone who could benefit from gaining a better understanding of the fundamentals of NHS business and finance.  Not only do they complement technical accounting studies and graduate schemes by providing essential NHS context, they can also offer significant value to a range of professionals including budget holders, first line managers, nurses, junior doctors, practice managers and administrators.

We are happy to discuss the potential to run the qualifications (diploma, certificate or award) for a cohort of students from the same organisation at a specific point in the year. There are benefits to studying with fellow students from different organisations – seeing different perspective or different challenges. There are also advantages to studying alongside colleagues – helping to cement relationships across departmental boundaries and between clinical and support functions and enabling discussions to really focus on how the content applies to the specific local context. We will support what works best for your organisation.

What is the time commitment?
This will vary with the qualification you choose. While the full intermediate diploma involves an estimated 400 hours of study time, the certificate will take around 200 hours and a single award should take around 100 hours to complete (including the assessment).

The cost of the diploma is £2,000+VAT, the certificate is £850+VAT and the award is £699+VAT. See our fees page for more information.

There are also discounts available to organisations putting forward multiple learners to study at the same time. These start at 15% and rise to 25% depending on the numbers of students involved.

What next?
Once you have chosen which qualification you would like to study; intermediate diploma, intermediate certificate or intermediate award, the next step is to apply to the HFMA Academy.