The HFMA National Healthcare Finance Awards 2018

HFMA’s National Healthcare Finance Awards programme recognises the work of finance teams and individuals from across the UK. The awards cover the fundamental aspects of the finance team role: including the production of the accounts, costing, governance, training and development, as well as the vital area of innovation. Crucially, given the importance of spreading financial awareness outside of finance departments, the awards also focus on the importance of engaging clinicians in financial management.

The awards ceremony

All shortlisted entries will be invited to HFMA’s annual awards dinner, held during the HFMA annual conference, where the winners will be revealed. The event will take place on the evening of Thursday 6 December 2018 at the London Hilton Metropole.

What winners receive:

• A unique, specially commissioned award trophy
• An award certificate
• Invites (for short listed entries) to HFMA’s annual awards dinner in December where the winners will be announced and the awards presented among 750 of their peers
• Coverage of their achievement in Healthcare Finance magazine and the special awards supplement
• Recognition by peers of best practice across the UK healthcare industry

Awards categories 

Finance Director* of the Year

Sponsored by GenMed logo

This award is for professional excellence in financial management and leadership. It recognises an individual’s contribution to their organisation’s financial performance and towards the improvement in healthcare locally or nationally in any of the four UK nations.

Finance Team of the Year
Sponsored by PA Consulting
This award recognises the contribution that the finance team has made in the last twelve months to promoting and improving teamwork, innovation, collaboration, transformation and governance.

Deputy Finance Director of the Year

Sponsored by Meridian

This award is for professional excellence in financial management. It recognises both the support given by a deputy to their finance director and an individual’s contribution to an organisation’s financial performance and towards the improvement in healthcare locally or nationally.

Working with Finance – Clinician* of the Year
This award acknowledges the importance of clinical engagement in financial management and in particular recognises a clinician who has taken financial responsibility for their services, led efficiency or improvement programmes or provided an example for other clinicians by engaging with the financial management agenda.

Costing Award
The costing award focuses on improvements in costing processes and costing information that have led to better information for organisations to use when making decisions about service delivery.

Innovation Award

Sponsored by prime logo small

This award looks to showcase a project or initiative that is innovative and has led to an improvement in the quality of a service in a financially efficient way. The award has a particular focus on the finance team’s role in the project and looks to recognise projects that have improved quality in an efficient and sustainable manner.

Governance Award 
Sponsored by ward hadaway logo (002)
This award is given to an individual, team or organisation that has introduced a change (big or small) to its assurance, risk management or governance arrangements in order that the organisation as a whole is better able to achieve its objectives. The aim of the award is to promote a strong, integrated approach to governance.

Havelock Award
This award recognises a significant contribution made towards finance skills development. It recognises best practice in the training and development of finance staff or the raising of financial awareness and skills within the wider non-financial workforce. The award was established to commemorate the significant contribution Jon Havelock made to NHS finance staff development.

For all queries regarding any of the awards, please contact Danielle Lucas via

Key dates

6pm on Friday 28 September 2018 – Deadline for entries

End of October 2018 – Shortlisted organisations announced and, where applicable, invited to present their application to the panel of judges

First two weeks of November – Interviews with short-listed candidates (where required)

Thursday 6 December 2018 – Winners announced at the HFMA’s annual awards dinner